Would you like to see your school recognised for originality and inspiration in language teaching and learning by being the next winner of CIOL’s Threlford Cup?

Our corporate member, CIOL (Chartered Institute of Linguists) awards the Threlford Cup annually to an individual, organisation or project that has encouraged language learning in others. The winner is chosen from nominations, and you may either nominate yourself or your school, nominate someone else, or ask someone to nominate you.

If you are a languages teacher who has inspired young minds, if you would like to nominate a colleague who has done something amazing for language learning, or if you know of someone who has worked hard within the local community to keep alive a heritage language and culture, we would love to hear from you.

The award has attracted some outstanding winners in recent years:

  • 2017 – MFL Mentoring project
  • 2016 – Sally Fagan, Business Language Champions
  • 2015 – European Master’s in Translation project
  • 2014 – GCHQ Language Outreach Programme for Schools
  • 2013 – the website thirdyearabroad.com (now globalgraduates.com)

We would like to celebrate the achievements of a school or teacher and present the award to someone who has gone the extra mile to encourage language learning. Just download the nomination form here and return it to comms@ciol.org.uk by 5pm on Friday 15 June 2018.

Please help us spread the word by forwarding this email to your colleagues and networks.

The Threlford Cup will be presented to the winner by HRH Prince Michael of Kent GCVO, CIOL’s Royal Patron, at CIOL’s awards evening in central London on Wednesday 14 November 2018.

See the CIOL website for photos from last year’s Awards and news report on the Threlford Cup winner.

If you have any queries about making a nomination, contact Debbie Butler, Communications Manager at CIOL on deborah.butler@ciol.org.uk.

The accompanying photo shows HRH Prince Michael of Kent presenting the Threlford Cup to Professor Claire Gororra, School of Modern Languages, Cardiff University, who collected the award on behalf of the MFL Mentoring project.

Pin It on Pinterest