The German Teacher of the Year Award is awarded to excellent teachers of German who have made an outstanding and dedicated contribution to German teaching at their school, through:-

  • a record of successful teaching, including innovative language teaching
  • successful introduction of German teaching
  • established and successful link activities with Germany, e.g. projects and exchanges, bilingual projects, curriculum projects
  • use of German language in subjects other than German
  • local or regional outreach activities

At the 14th Award Ceremony on Monday 12 June 2017 German Ambassador, Dr Peter Ammon welcomed over 220 guests including celebrated author, John le Carré’ to his Residence for the annual ‘Sommerfest der deutschen Sprache’, and paid tribute to outstanding teachers of German in the UK.

Congratulations to the 2017 prize winners:

Chloe Alexandra Samuels (Caerleon Comprehensive School, Newport)
Jill Snook (Monmouth Comprehensive School, Monmouthshire)
Emily Jane Wagstaffe (Oundle School, Northamptonshire)

ALL member Jill Snook, was further praised by The EAS (Education Achievement Service for South East Wales) ‘we are thrilled that Jill’s hard work and dynamic enthusiasm has been recognised.  This is such a well-deserved award, as Jill is a wonderful ambassadress for the teaching and learning of German in our region. It also recognizes the amazing work that she is tirelessly doing to promote German (and other languages) across all the key stages within her school, as well as her contribution to the Welsh Government’s Global Futures strategy for Modern Foreign Languages in the South East Wales region”

Head of Oundle School, Sarah Kerr-Dineen also commented on the achievement of Emily Jane Wagstaffe “I am so proud that Emily’s talent and dedication has been recognised in this way and, by extension, the tremendous strength of Modern Languages at Oundle.”

The Peter Boaks Award was awarded to ALL’s Secondary Teacher of the Year 2017 – Dawn Piper (Littleover Community School, Derbyshire).

The details of all the awards can be found here.

The German Teacher Award is jointly organised by the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in London, the Embassy of Switzerland in the United Kingdom, the Goethe-Institut London, the Austrian Cultural Forum London, UK German Connection, the Deutsche Schule London, the Departments for Education in England and Wales, the Education Development Trust (formerly CfBT) and the Association for Language Learning.

Pin It on Pinterest